BC Amphibians

In BC, more than half of all amphibian and reptile species are assessed as being of conservation concern. Amphibians (frogs, toads, and salamanders) are animals that have a characteristic two-stage life cycle. The name amphibian comes from the Greek amphi– (two) and bios (life). Because of their diverse habitat needs during their life cycle, a variety of threats including habitat degradation, loss of wetland, road mortality, and emerging diseases are causing population declines both globally and in BC.

There are thirteen species of frogs (two invasive species) and toads and nine species of salamanders in British Columbia. Many of our populations occur at the northern edge of their range while some others are widely distributed within BC.

Currently, five amphibians rank as Red, five species rank as Blue and ten species rank as Yellow. Learn more about how the government ranks species in British Columbia.

Blue-listed Species

Red-listed Species

Toad, frog or salamander: how to tell them apart?

Frogs have smooth, wet skin with long legs for jumping to up 20 times their body length. Toads have dry skin with warts and short legs for hopping. Salamanders have tails and short legs with fleshy toes at the end of each foot which are ideal for crawling.

Red-legged frogWebSmall
spadefoot toadWebSmall

Northern Red-Legged Frog

Great Basin Spadefood Toad

Long-Toed Salamander

Photos: Jared Hobbs